whatsapp-logo+92 300 859 4219 , +92 300 859 1434

   Cash On Delivery is Available

whatsapp-logo+92 300 859 4219 , +92 300 859 1434

   Cash On Delivery is Available

ECP reserves determination on reference looking for disqualification of dissident PTI MPAs

The Election Commission of Pakistan
The Election Fee of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday reserved its verdict on a reference looking for the disqualification of 25 dissident MPAs of the PTI, who had voted for PML-N’s Hamza Shehbaz within the election for the Punjab chief minister.

It’ll announce the decision at 12pm tomorrow (Wednesday).

Final month, Hamza was elected Punjab chief minister, defeating PTI-PML-Q’s joint candidate, Chaudhry Parvez Elahi. Hamza had bagged 197 votes, together with 25 from PTI dissidents. Elahi didn’t get any votes because the PTI and PML-Q lawmakers had walked out of the session.

Subsequently, after a declaration by the PTI, Elahi, who can also be the Punjab Meeting speaker, had despatched a reference in opposition to the dissident MPAs to the ECP, urging it to de-seat these lawmakers for defecting from the PTI by casting their votes in Hamza’s favour in violation of celebration instructions.

The dissident lawmakers are Raja Sagheer Ahmed, Malik Ghulam Rasool Sangha, Saeed Akbar Khan, Mohammad Ajmal, Abdul Aleem Khan, Nazir Ahmed Chohan, Mohammad Amin Zulqernain, Malik Nauman Langrial, Mohammad Salman, Zawar Hussain Warraich, Nazir Ahmed Khan, Fida Hussain, Zahra Batool, Mohammad Tahir, Aisha Nawaz, Sajida Yousaf, Haroon Imran Gill, Uzma Kardar, Malik Asad Ali, Ijaz Masih, Mohammad Sabtain Raza, Mohsin Atta Khan Khosa, Mian Khalid Mehmood, Mehar Mohammad Aslam and Faisal Hayat.

The 25 MPAs named within the reference had been issued instructions by the PTI however they’d solid their votes for Hamza, Elahi’s reference had acknowledged. Subsequently, the dissident MPAs had been issued present trigger notices to elucidate their place however they’d not replied, it added.

Throughout the listening to at the moment, Khalid Ishaq, who was representing 10 MPAs, stated the lawmakers had neither obtained an invite nor the agenda for the April 1 parliamentary celebration assembly. As well as, solely two lawmakers obtained present trigger notices on April 7, he stated.

The dissident lawmakers didn’t obtain the declaration for disqualification despatched on April 18 as nicely, he additional stated, arguing that his purchasers weren’t given the chance to current their stance.

“The parliamentary celebration’s determination is nowhere to be discovered,” he instructed the courtroom. “A false doc was made after the parliamentary celebration’s assembly. [Former prime minister] Imran Khan mocks the members and the ECP on daily basis.

“[PTI’s counsel] Ali Zafar rightly stated that flooring crossing is a most cancers [but] celebration dictatorship is a most cancers as nicely.”

Ishaq argued that even when celebration chairman Imran’s directions had been “right”, the MPAs may nonetheless not be disqualified.

The lawmakers had been instructed to vote for Elahi and never be absent on the day of voting, he stated. He added that the MPAs had been free to vote independently as soon as Elahi boycotted the election.

“Nowhere did the celebration chairman challenge directions to not vote for the other candidate in case of a boycott.”

Related arguments had been made by Javed Malik, dissident MPA Aisha Nawaz’s counsel.

“A no-confidence movement was pending in opposition to Elahi. Can he ship the [disqualification] reference regardless of that?”