whatsapp-logo+92 300 859 4219 , +92 300 859 1434

   Cash On Delivery is Available

whatsapp-logo+92 300 859 4219 , +92 300 859 1434

   Cash On Delivery is Available

Heinrich Klaasen powers South Africa to 2-0 lead over India in Twenty20 sequence

Heinrich Klaasen powers South Africa to 2-0 lead over India in Twenty20 series
Wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen smashed 81 off 46 balls to guide South Africa’s tough chase as they beat India by 4 wickets within the second Twenty20 Worldwide on Sunday.

Needing 149 for victory on a sizzling and humid day in Cuttack, South Africa rode Klaasen’s fourth T20 half-century to realize their goal in 18.2 overs and lead the five-match sequence 2-0.

South Africa’s bowlers, led by tempo spearhead Kagiso Rabada, arrange victory after they stored India to 148-6 after deciding to discipline first.

The vacationers suffered a pre-match blow when wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock was dominated out with a hand damage however Temba Bavuma’s facet stored up the momentum from their opening win.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar put South Africa in bother at 29-3 inside six overs on a seemingly robust batting pitch earlier than Klaasen and Bavuma, who made 35, placed on 64 runs to place the chase again on observe.

Bhuvneshwar, who returned figures of 4-13, took down Reeza Hendricks and Dwaine Pretorius in his first two overs after which bowled earlier match hero Rassie van der Dussen, who made 75 in his group’s opening win.

Klaasen soaked the stress and the humidity together with his clear hitting.

He raised his 50 in 41 balls and took aside the Indian assault to make the goal look easy with the in-form David Miller for firm.

Klaasen hit seven fours and 5 sixes earlier than departing, however the job had been carried out and the left-handed Miller hit the successful runs to complete with 20 not out.

Earlier Rabada despatched again Ruturaj Gaikwad for one to carry up his fiftieth T20 wicket for South Africa and returned figures of 1-15.

Left-handed opener Ishan Kishan (34) and Shreyas Iyer (40) then tried to rebuild the innings in a 45-run partnership that was damaged by quick bowler Anrich Nortje, who took two wickets.

Left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj despatched again skipper Rishabh Pant in his first over and shortly Hardik Pandya’s wicket off Wayne Parnell made India slip additional.

However Dinesh Karthik hit an unbeaten 30 off 21 balls to offer the group a late push throughout his 36-run unbeaten stand with Harshal Patel however the effort was not sufficient.

The third match is in Visakhapatnam on Tuesday.



R. Gaikwad c Maharaj b Rabada 1

I. Kishan c van der Dussen b Nortje 34

S. Iyer c Klaasen b Pretorius 40

R. Pant c van der Dussen b Maharaj 5

H. Pandya b Parnell 9

A. Patel b Nortje 10

D. Karthik not out 30

H. Patel not out 12

EXTRAS (LB-1, W-6) 7

TOTAL (for six wickets, 20 overs) 148

DID NOT BAT: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal

FALL OF WICKETS: 1-3 (Gaikwad), 2-48 (Kishan), 3-68 (Pant), 4-90 (Pandya), 5-98 (Iyer), 6-112 (Axar)

BOWLING: Rabada 4-0-15-1 (w1), Parnell 4-0-23-1 (w2), Nortje 4-0-36-2 (w1), Pretorius 4-0-40-1, Shamsi 2-0-21-0 (w2), Maharaj 2-0-12-1


T. Bavuma b Chahal 35

R. Hendricks b Bhuvneshwar 4

D. Pretorius c Avesh b Bhuvneshwar 4

R. van der Dussen b Bhuvneshwar 1

H. Klaasen c sub (Bishnoi) b H. Patel 81

D. Miller not out 20

W. Parnell b Bhuvneshwar 1

Okay. Rabada not out 0

EXTRAS (LB-1, W-2) 3

TOTAL (for six wickets, 18.2 overs) 149

DID NOT BAT: Okay. Maharaj, A. Nortje, T. Shamsi

FALL OF WICKETS: 1-5 (Hendricks), 2-13 (Pretorius), 3-29 (van der Dussen), 4-93 (Bavuma), 5-144 (Klaasen), 6-147 (Parnell)

BOWLING: Bhuvneshwar 4-0-13-4, Avesh 3-0-17-0, Pandya 3-0-31-0, Chahal 4-0-49-1 (w1), Harshal 3-0-17-1 (w1), Axar 1-0-19-0, Iyer 0.2-0-2-0

SERIES: South Africa lead the five-match sequence 2-0